T-minus 8 days!

Where has the time gone? 8 more working days, and I will have completed my one year contract as an English teacher here in China. The time has really flown.

Thinking back to when I first stepped off the plane, things have come a long way…

My old apartment
My old apartment
My old apartment
My old apartment

Firstly, I have well and truly settled into life in China. My adopted country has turned out to be a great fit, and I couldn’t be happier. Things are still as interesting, bright and shiny as they initially were. However the everyday tasks that were once so difficult, are now second nature. This is mostly due to my ability to speak a little Chinese, which brings me to my second point.

My old school!
My old school!

中文!!

When I first arrived in China, the only word I could say was 你好  (hello. I decided that I would study Chinese everyday, so I would have a good understanding of the language. This lasted about a week! After that I didn’t really put in any study time. Regardless, my Chinese isn’t half bad! I can converse, and I can even read and type some basic Chinese language. It amazes me how much I actually know!

My next job will provide me with a Chinese language tutor, so in the next few months, I imagine my level will progress rapidly.

The classroom
The classroom
Reception
Reception
The classroom
The classroom

As a teacher things have also come a long way. When I started, I was like a fish out of water! I would stress over the planning of each class, and I’d be extremely nervous during the class. Now each class runs smoothly, and I can enjoy myself. Very soon, I will be moving to a bigger, better school. It can’t come soon enough, I’m excited! So many things will be different (for the better). I’ll be sure to keep you updated!

Looking back this has been an incredible year. Beautiful women, new friends, delicious food, epic scenery, and some crazy nights out!

But the adventure isn’t over, in fact it’s only just beginning!

Leave a Reply

